While many farming areas in the provinces were not included in the list of beneficiaries of fertilizer bought out of the P2.8 billion in farm input funds that Malacañang released before the May 2004 presidential elections, Metro Manila was allotted P50 million in such funds.


Subsequently, the agriculture department sent a list of more congressmen and local officials to support its requests for funds.

Included in these submissions were Representatives Ernesto Nieva, Jaime Lopez and Rodolfo Bacani of Manila, Nanette Daza of Quezon City, Consuelo Dy of Pasay City, Teodoro Locsin Jr. of Makati, Neptali Gonzales of Mandaluyong, Del de Guzman of Marikina, Cynthia Villar of Las Piñas, Rozzano Rufino Biazon of Muntinlupa, Eduardo Zialcita of Parañaque, Sherwin Gatchalian and Magtanggol Gunigundo I of Valenzuela City and Alan Peter Cayetano of Taguig-Pateros.